I am Lindy Hop

Bead 109 has a lovely post about “We Are Always Ballet“. I think the following sentiments will resonate with many of us who happened to stumble across Lindy Hop because we needed a diversion from work or an emotional escape from life’s challenges:

Being ballet is about being present in where you are and what you are doing, it’s about finding that place where what you do is part of who you are. I know that well. I am science, I am scholarship, I am thought, work, and creation. When I work, I am intensely part of my work – I think about it, I talk about it, I dream about it. It’s actually one of the things that drove me to not only want to watch ballet but to learn ballet. I spend so much time being science, being scholarship, being thought, word, and research creation, that I wanted, I needed something that could remove me completely, to allow me to have a real break from it. At the same time, I’m not a lie around on the beach sort of person, so my “diversion” needed to be something challenging, something of substance. Ballet allows me to become something else for a few hours. And now I am ballet. It’s like that buddist idea that we are all buddah, you know, be where you are.

Let’s be where we are and be what we love, always being present in the joys and challenges of our lives. We are always ballet. Now, let’s dance!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

